Board of Directors

The dedication of our Board of Directors is critical to the success of Communities for a Healthy Bay. Our board is composed of knowledgeable and experienced leaders from business, government and education. They define and advance the mission of CHB and act as ambassadors to the community.

Barry Goldstein, Ph.D.

Professor of Geology, University of Puget Sound

Anders Ibsen

Realtor, Windermere Real Estate

Sheri J. Tonn, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry, Pacific Lutheran University; Co-founder of Communities for a Healthy Bay

Alan Varsik, Board Chair

Director, Point Defiance Zoo, Northwest Trek Wildlife Park

Dana Coggon

Executive Director, Pierce County Conservation District

Alicia Lawver, MBA, APR

Director of Strategic Planning – Tacoma Public Schools

Craig Davison

Executive Director of Marketing and Communications – MultiCare Foundations

Brion Baker

Director of Supplier Quality Regional Operations, The Boeing Co

Johannes Ariens

Principal/Commodity Companies

Alicia Klein

Network Program Manager, Tacoma Pierce County Health Department

Joy Stanford

Political Director, Washington Conservation Action

Justin Hentges

Chief Financial and Management Officer, National Institutes of Health All of Us Research Program Serving in his personal capacity

Policy and Technical Advisory Committee

Our Policy and Technical Advisory Committee is made up of passionate experts in oceanography, hydrogeology, chemistry, marine ecology, fish biology, environmental monitoring, sustainability and environmental law. This advisory group allows Communities for a Healthy Bay to cultivate a deep understanding of the scientific and policy issues related to our work. Meet the experts!

Sheri Tonn, Committee Chair

Professor of Chemistry, Pacific Lutheran University (retired) and co-founder of Communities for a Healthy Bay

Marnie Boardman

Climate Change Coordinator, Washington Department of Health

Barry Goldstein

Professor of Geology, University of Puget Sound

Kristin Lynett

Office of Environmental Policy and Sustainability Manager, City of Tacoma

Rebecca Stith

Tacoma Human Services Commissioner & US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Senior Attorney (retired)

Luke Sturgeon

J.D. Candidate at the University of Washington, Class of 2022

Joe Tieger

Environmental Protection Agency (retired)

*Participation in CHB’s Policy & Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC) does not imply endorsement of PTAC activities nor policies from the Committee member’s employer.